Stroke Association's Life after stroke awards

Each year the Stroke Association’s Life After Stroke Awards recognises and celebrates the outstanding achievements of stroke survivors, their families and carers. I have been nominated 4 times for the adult courage award (18 to 64 years):

2009 nominated by a church friend, Yvonne Gee

2011 nominated by my son, Darrel. The winner being Helen from Birmingham

The 2012 winner was Anthony Lewis

2013 nominated by a church friend, Leah Mtembu. The winner being Eileen Matthews

2014 again nominated by Leah Mtembu and also Alan Houghton, a friend and stroke victor from Barnet.



For my 2014 certificate my good friend, Peter was able to take me to the regional presentation function held in the village of Tewin where we were also able to hear about other people's incredible journeys and also receive my certificate personally
The Tewin memorial village function hall
Peter and I
receiving my 2014 certificate

. The 2015 national was Angharad Lloyd Thomas and given her award at a most prestigious function.

My 2015 again nominated by Leah Mtembu.

2016 nominations close on the 30th April 2016.